Filmfest Hamburg


Years running: 33 (since 1992)

Filmfest Hamburg

Festival of futures and documentaries in Hamburg.


In eight permanent and several anually changing sections Filmfest Hamburg shows about 120 national and international feature and documentary films as German, European or world premiere. The many facets of the program range from sophisticated arthouse films to innovative mainstream cinema.
Filmfest Hamburg presents the debut films of young German and international filmmakers alongside films by famous directors of international cinema. Furthermore, special German TV productions find their unique way to the big screen. 
Academy Award winners such as Clint Eastwood and Michael Moore, arthouse filmmakers such as Jim Jarmusch and Peter Greenaway, Dogma-founder Lars von Trier and German directors such as Fatih Akin and Oliver Hirschbiegel represent the festival’s entire artistic plenitude. 

Films for the festival program are selected by a special committee for the 8-core and several new sections, changing every year. Television productions will be shown in a special section. 


  • Douglas-Sirk-Award: This famous award is presented annually to a personality or a company that has made outstanding achievements around film culture and film industry;
  • Hamburg Film Critic Award: The German news magazines ‘Der Spiegel’, ‘Stern’, Hamburg’s daily newspaper ‘Hamburger Abendblatt’ and the radio station ‘NDR 90,3’ run this joint initiative to honor a production that offers an original view of present issues. Out of Filmfest Hamburg’s main programme, a range of different movies, ranging from international big-budget productions to German low-budget movies will be nominated; 
  • Foreign Press Award;
  • TV Producer Award: This award is endowed with 30.000 euros provided by Hamburg's Ministry of Culture. The award will be presented to the production company of the winning film;
  • Montblanc Scriptwriting Award: Scriptwriting Award which is endowed with 10.000 euros. The award is granted as part of the "Nordlichter" section. All films of the section "Nordlichter" will be nominated;
  • Art Cinema Award: Films that have a German distributor can be nominated. The confederation's extensive network will support the distribution of the winning film throughout Europe. Award is endowed with 10.000 euros;
  • Die Elfe: The young talents award is given to young directors. The award is endowed with 5,000 euros;
  • Häagen-Dazs Audience Award: The audience gets to decide by public vote which of the seven competing films in the "Eurovisuell" section is their favorite;
  • Michel Award: The award included prize money of 5000 euros. A jury made up of children determined the best children's and youth film in the international competition.


  • Feature or documentary film that was finished after June 30th 2022.
  • German premiere status is required.
  • Films longer than 60 min.
  • It is possible to submit your film either as an online screener via link or as DVD/BluRay.

Premiere Requirements

No premiere requirement

Jury and Organizers

Festival director:
Albert Wiederspiel: +49 40 399 19 00 0

Tilman Ferse (Director): +49 40 399 19 00 12




Official Website



Home address (for courier-sending only)

Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH
Mönckebergstraße 18
D-20095 Hamburg

Postal address:

Filmfest Hamburg
Postfach 10 22 11
20015 Hamburg

Phone: +49 40 399 19 00 0
Fax: +49 40 399 19 00 10


Social Networks

Вы представитель фестиваля?

Редактируйте информацию о фестивале самостоятельно

Sign up
Dates & Deadlines
  • Deadline
    June 15, 2023
  • Event Dates
    28 September — 7 October 2023
Categories & Fees

Features and documentaries must have a minimum length of 60 minutes.

  • Deadline — free
Festivals of Note




2 days


7 days


8 days

Festival Widget