Fantaspoa Film Festival


Years running: 20 (since 2004)

Fantaspoa Film Festival

The biggest genre festival in Latin America, created in 2004.


Created in 2005, Fantaspoa - International Fantastic Film Festival of Porto Alegre was the pioneer festival dedicated to bringing fantastic films to Brazil. Fantaspoa is a 18 day festival, using 2 screening rooms and exhibiting over 100 films yearly.

Fantaspoa has the following official sections: Short Film Competition (subdivided into live-action/animation and national/international); Ibero-American Feature Film Competition and International Competition. The festival also have special sidebars that change from edition to edition.

Each edition, the festival grants a total of around 20 awards in the different sections of the festival, as well as the Lifetime Achievement Award, that was already presented to some of the greatest auteurs of the fantastic genre, such as Roger Corman, Christina Lindberg, Larry Wilson, Luigi Cozzi, Lamberto Bava, Ruggero Deodato, Claudio Simonetti, Stuart Gordon, David Schmoeller, Frank Henenlotter, Lloyd Kaufman, Simon Boswell, Richard Stanley, Bill Plympton, Katt Shea and Jeff Lieberman.

Each year the festival welcomes more than 50 guests, that participate in Q&A's after the screenings, bringing together audience and filmmakers. This initiative, as well as the development of workshops and lectures, fostering the study, diffusion and production of cinema in Brazil.

Over its 15 years, Fantaspoa became the biggest genre festival in Latin America and the main film event in the city of Porto Alegre and is now a reference for several artists as one of the most convivial festival experiences and a great window of exhibition for fantastic films in Brazil. The festival is a member of the European Fantastic Film Festivals Federation (the Federation), which is "a tightly knit network of 22 film festivals from 16 countries, with a global attendance of over 450 000 visitors, making it a vital economic and cultural player on the fantastic film scene".


A trophy for each one of the categories listed below.

  • Short Films:

Best Brazilian Short Film
Best International Short Animated Film
Best International Short Live-Action Film

  • Ibero-American Selection:

Best Film
Best Direction
Best Screenplay
Best Actress
Best Actor

  • International Competition:

Best Film
Best Director
Best Actress
Best Actor
Best Screenplay
Best Art Direction
Best Special Effects

  • Critic's Awards:

Best Brazilian Short Film
Best International Short Animated Film
Best International Short Live-Action Film


  • Running time for all feature films must be 60 minutes or more;
  • Running time for all shorts must be less than 30 minutes;
  • Film submissions in a foreign language must be subtitled or spoken in English or Spanish;
  • The films shall be a premiere on the city of Porto Alegre;
  • All submitted films must have been completed after January, 1st, 2020, and must have DVD, DVD Blu-Ray OR ProRes File as their screening format; 

Premiere Requirements

City premiere required.

Jury and Organizers

Festival directors: Joao Fleck and Nicolas Tonsho



Porto Alegre

Official Website



Vigario Jose Inacio Street, 615, ap 1203
Porto Alegre, RS 90020-110

Phone: 55518-436-2968


Social Networks:

Вы представитель фестиваля?

Редактируйте информацию о фестивале самостоятельно

Sign up
Dates & Deadlines
  • Opening Date
    August 03, 2022
  • Deadline 1
    September 16, 2022
  • Deadline 2
    November 01, 2022
  • Late Deadline
    December 15, 2022
  • Extended Deadline
    January 31, 2023
  • Notifications
    April 01, 2023
  • Event Dates
    13 — 30 April 2023
Categories & Fees
  • Deadline 1 — $30
  • Deadline 2 — $40
  • Late Deadline — $50
  • Extended Deadline — $60
  • Deadline 1 — $25
  • Deadline 2 — $35
  • Late Deadline — $45
  • Extended Deadline — $55
Festivals of Note


16 days


25 days


25 days


25 days

Festival Widget